Holy Week 2022


Palm Sunday, April 10

Mass: 9:30 am, 11:30 am, 7 pm

The Sacred Triduum 

Holy Thursday, April 14 

Shrine opens at 3 pm - no 12:10 pm Mass

Mass of the Lord's Supper: 7:00 pm

Good Friday, April 15:

Shrine opens at 10 am


The Passion of Our Lord Jesus Christ: 3:00 pm, 7 pm

Easter Vigil, April 16:

Shrine opens at 6 pm

Mass: 8 PM

Easter Sunday, April 17:

Mass: 9:30 AM, 11:30 am
No 7 pm mass

The Easter Triduum is the proper name for the three-day season that concludes Lent and introduces Easter.

Starting with the Mass of the Lord's Supper on the evening of Holy Thursday, continuing through the Good Friday service and Holy Saturday, and concluding with evening prayer on Easter Sunday, the Easter Triduum marks the most significant events of Holy Week.  The Mass of the Lord's Supper includes a ritual washing of feet. The altars are stripped of ornamentation, leaving only the cross and candlesticks.

The Good Friday ceremony is marked by a ritual unveiling of the cross near the altar. This is the day that marks the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ.

Christ is Risen!

After nightfall on Holy Saturday, Catholics hold an Easter vigil service, which represents the faithful awaiting the resurrection of Jesus Christ after his    burial.  This service includes a ceremony of light and darkness, in which a paschal candle is lit to represent the resurrection of Christ.  When the Paschal Candle is placed in its prominent candle stand in the church, the church’s lights are turned back on, the candle is       incensed, and the Easter Proclamation – also known as the Exsultet is chanted.  As the Exsultet exhorts us, “Be glad, let earth be glad, as glory floods her, ablaze with light from her eternal King, let all corners of the earth be glad, knowing an end to gloom and darkness.” May this venerable Easter Proclamation serve us and our community as a genuine expression of Easter hope and joy. 

The season of Easter begins at the Easter Vigil. But before that, the week previous to Easter is called Holy Week; it begins with Passion Sunday (Palm Sunday). On Passion Sunday the Church celebrates Christ's riding into Jerusalem on a road strewn with cloaks and leafy branches (Mark 11:8; cf. Matthew 21:8, Luke 19:36, John 12:13), as he set about to accomplish his Paschal mystery. The week culminates with the Triduum (a Latin word for a three-day period) that includes Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and Easter itself.

The Triduum begins with the Evening Mass of the Lord's Supper on Holy Thursday. The next day, Good Friday, called “good” because on that day humanity was redeemed from its slavery to the powers of sin and death, is the most somber day of the liturgical year, for it commemorates Christ buried in his tomb. The tabernacle is empty, the altar is bare, statues of saints are removed from the church (or veiled), and the holy water fonts are dry-and no Mass is celebrated. The Good Friday liturgy begins with the proclamation of the Passion of Our Lord Jesus Christ according to John, continues with the veneration of the Cross and concludes with a simple Communion service with the Eucharist reserved from Holy Thursday's liturgy.

The Triduum culminates with the Easter Vigil on Holy Saturday, a liturgy that begins in total darkness until the Gloria returns with bells and Alleluias. Christ is risen!

The Easter season is considered such a special time that instead of continuing just for the eight days of the octave of Easter (all celebrated as solemnities of the Lord), it extends for 50 days (including Sundays and counting Easter Sunday itself). On Sundays during the Easter season, the assembly gathered for worship renews their baptismal promises and are sprinkled with holy water blessed at the Easter Vigil. These 50 days are to be seen as a single celebration of the central aspect of our lives as Christians that is the resurrection of the Lord. The season of Easter comes to a close, and Ordinary Time returns, on the Monday after Pentecost Sunday (from the Greek pentekoste, fiftieth day) on which we celebrate the descent of the Holy Spirit (Acts 2:1-13).

The liturgical color of the season of Easter is white, symbolizing purity and joy. Red, the color of passion, is used on Passion (Palm) Sunday and Good Friday. Red, symbolizing fire, is also used on Pentecost Sunday.