Stations of the Cross

Lenten Stations of the Cross

Fridays of Lent, 5:30PM

The Stations of the Cross is a centuries-old form of prayer used traditionally in Lent.
Comprising of 14 stations, each depict moments leading up to Jesus’ crucifixion. By
journeying through the stations we walk with Jesus on his way to the cross.
Praying the Station of the Cross is a powerful way to identify Christ’s suffering with
our own and that of the world, however limitations on time and space make relating
to and praying the stations difficult.

The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ's last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons or images. They can also appear in church yards arranged along paths. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred.

The Stations of the Cross

1. Jesus is condemned to death.
2. Jesus is given His cross.
3. Jesus falls down for the first time.
4. Jesus meets His mother Mary.
5. Simon of Cyrene is forced to carry the cross.
6. Veronica wipes blood off of Jesus’ face.
7. Jesus falls down for the second time.
8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.
9. Jesus falls down for the third time.
10. Jesus is stripped of His clothing.
11. Jesus is nailed to the cross – the Crucifixion.
12. Jesus dies on the cross.
13. Jesus’ body is removed from the cross – the Deposition or Lamentation.
14. Jesus’ body is placed in the tomb.

Stations of the Cross

USCCB - Scriptural Stations of the Cross

This 13th-century hymn is variously attributed to Gregory I, Bernard of Clairvaux, Pope Innocent III, or St. Bonaventure.  It is commonly sung at the Stations of the Cross during Lenten services.  The Stabat Mater Dolorosa is considered one of the seven greatest Latin hymns of all time. It is based upon the prophecy of Simeon that a sword was to pierce the heart of Our Lord's mother, Mary (Lk2:35).